Joran Hofman
March 6, 2021

What does ccTLD Domain stand for?

A ccTLD is the group of letters at the end of a URL that indicates in which country a website is registered, and who are the users the info will be shown to. ccTLD stands for country code top-level domain.

What Is ccTLD Domain?

The only function of a ccTLD is to regulate and indicate to what country or region a website is located in (not necessary where it’s server is but where the site is registered), but is very important to note that Even though it targets specific locations, it does not filter the content through language; a ccTLD is one the most important and strongest tools for an SEO to do its job.

ccTLDs can be used to target specific audiences, when a site uses a ccTLD Google automatically assumes that the information displayed is of interest to the area targeted/described by the ccTLD and so, it should appear in searches around that geographic area. If a writer wants his content to be presented to a certain public (such as users in the same country as the writer’s business), or maybe the site is a blog and he is searching for a wider audience, whatever the case is, he needs to make sure that the ccTLD of the website is accord to its purpose.

How To Get ccTLD?

Every country has what is called a domain extension, a code that is unique and special for that specific demographic area (such as .co, .de, .jp) but there are also universal domains that are recognized globally (such as .com, .org, .net).

A page’s owner may wonder why he would need to use a demographic domain when he could easily use a global one; the answer is because it will make it easier for the brand to reach global expansion. A page has a Country Code Domain will make it more likely to appear in the search results.

For a site to own a ccTLD, it needs to accomplish some rules and requisites, this will vary from a domain to another, depending on the region/Country that it’s from. And as in each Country, the rules are different, the features do as well, they vary from register measurements, renovation dates, expiration time to transfer procedures, change of domain’s name, and even renovation.

What Are The 5 Top-Level Domains?

A Top-Level Domain is the part of a URL that has the rights of it, the clearest and popular example is “.com”, these tlds normally have a purpose behind them, and can indicate things such as in which region or country the site is registered (that is the one described above), but it could also demonstrate the organization that owns it or even its purpose; they can be named as:

  1. ccTLD (Country Code Top Level Domains): These are TLDs which use is only reserved for a country o a dependent territory. Some examples: .aw(Aruba), .ca(Canada), .co(Colombia).
  2. gTLD (Generic Top Level Domains): These TLDs are used by specific types of organizations, such as: .com(Commercial Organizations), .int(International organizations).
  3. sTLD (Sponsored Top Level Domains): These TLDs represent a sponsor dedicated to a specific community. Are somehow alike to the gTLDs but with restrictions to who can use them. Example: .aero(sponsored by SITA), .edu(EDUCAUSE).
  4. tTLD (Test Top Level Domains): This one is only attended for use in the testing of webpages/software.

ARPA (Infrastructure Top Level Domains): Used for the management of technical network infrastructure.

Explore more glossaries